Which tokenized government bonds and money market funds has Hong Kong issued?
9 tranches of digital green bonds from the HKSAR Government, issued in 2023, 2024, 2025; 4 of them are still outstanding (USD 300 million, RMB 2.5 billion, HKD 2.5 billion, EUR 300 million), the rest have matured and been repaid. Plus 3 digital money market funds from China Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited, authorised by the SFC and confirmed live by the manager.
Hong Kong issues tokenized instruments through its regulators rather than through crypto platforms. The government has issued its green bonds in digital form three times since 2023, recorded on a private ledger and settled through the HKMA’s Central Moneymarkets Unit. Fund managers need SFC authorisation for a fund with tokenized units; the SFC’s register lists more than 2,400 authorised funds, and only a handful of them are digital. We list a fund only once the manager itself confirms it is live.
Figures from our live dataset · page generated 2026-10-16 · not investment advice
| Token | Issuer | Yield / return | Minimum | KYC to buy | Chain |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SFC-BWG919 ChinaAMC RMB Digital Money Market Fund | China Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited | Yield not stated by the source | — | Not stated | — |
| SFC-BWG918 ChinaAMC USD Digital Money Market Fund | China Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited | Yield not stated by the source | — | Not stated | — |
| SFC-BVQ026 ChinaAMC HKD Digital Money Market Fund | China Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited | Yield not stated by the source | — | Not stated | — |
| HKGB-DIGI-2025-USD HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2025 (USD 3-year tranche) | HKSAR Government | 3.633% coupon | — | Not stated | HSBC Orion |
| HKGB-DIGI-2025-RMB HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2025 (RMB 5-year tranche) | HKSAR Government | 1.9% coupon | — | Not stated | HSBC Orion |
| HKGB-DIGI-2025-HKD HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2025 (HKD 2-year tranche) | HKSAR Government | 2.5% coupon | — | Not stated | HSBC Orion |
| HKGB-DIGI-2025-EUR HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2025 (EUR 4-year tranche) | HKSAR Government | 2.512% coupon | — | Not stated | HSBC Orion |
| HKGB-DIGI-2024-USD HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2024 (USD tranche) | HKSAR Government | 4.749% coupon | — | Not stated | HSBC Orion |
| HKGB-DIGI-2024-RMB HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2024 (RMB tranche) | HKSAR Government | 2.9% coupon | — | Not stated | HSBC Orion |
| HKGB-DIGI-2024-HKD HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2024 (HKD tranche) | HKSAR Government | 3.8% coupon | — | Not stated | HSBC Orion |
| HKGB-DIGI-2024-EUR HKSAR Government — Digital Green Bond 2024 (EUR tranche) | HKSAR Government | 3.647% coupon | — | Not stated | HSBC Orion |
| HKGB-DIGI-2023 HKSAR Government — Tokenised Green Bond 2023 | HKSAR Government | 4.05% coupon | — | Not stated | Goldman Sachs GS DAP (private blockchain) |
How to choose
The bonds are government credit in four currencies with fixed coupons; the funds give a variable money market rate. Either way the tokenization changes how they settle, not what you own — compare them with the plain version your bank or broker already offers, including its fees.
More questions
Are Hong Kong’s digital green bonds on a public blockchain?
No. The 2023 bond was recorded on Goldman Sachs’ GS DAP and the 2024 and 2025 issues on HSBC Orion, both private, permissioned ledgers. Settlement runs through the HKMA’s Central Moneymarkets Unit, as for any other government bond. You hold them through a bank or broker, not in a wallet.
What is a digital money market fund in Hong Kong?
An ordinary SFC-authorised money market fund whose units are recorded as tokens. ChinaAMC RMB Digital Money Market Fund, ChinaAMC USD Digital Money Market Fund, ChinaAMC HKD Digital Money Market Fund. The manager’s announcement of 21 September 2026 names Standard Chartered as custodian and HSBC tokenised deposits for the cash leg.
Why are other digital funds from the SFC register missing here?
An SFC authorisation shows a fund may be offered, not that it has launched or that its units are already tokens. We add a fund once its manager confirms the launch in its own words — a fund that is authorised but unconfirmed stays out, however large its manager.
Which of them can I buy without KYC?
None of them is stated as buyable without KYC.
Which is the largest?
By size, HKGB-DIGI-2023 at $800M, followed by HKGB-DIGI-2025-USD at $300M and HKGB-DIGI-2025-EUR at $300M. Size is not safety, but a larger product usually means a deeper market to sell into.
Are these yields fixed?
None is stated as fixed. The figures on this page were last checked between 2026-10-14T17:39:17.937Z and 2026-10-15T10:00:00.000Z.