Answers · Head to head

USDY or OUSG — what is the difference between Ondo’s two Treasury tokens, and which one fits me?

Short answer

USDY (Ondo Finance) yields ~3.55%, minimum ~$50 (secondary market), can be bought on a DEX without KYC. OUSG (Ondo Finance) yields ~3.53%, minimum $5,000, can be bought on a DEX without KYC.

Both come from Ondo Finance and both are backed by short-term US Treasuries. USDY is a yield-bearing note aimed at non-US individuals; OUSG is a fund token for qualified investors. The table shows what that means in practice.

Figures from our live dataset · page generated 2026-10-11 · not investment advice

TokenIssuerYield / returnMinimumKYC to buyChain
USDY
Ondo US Dollar Yield
Ondo Finance~3.55%~$50 (secondary market)No KYC on a DEXEthereum / Solana (+10)
OUSG
Ondo Short-Term US Government Treasuries
Ondo Finance~3.53%$5,000No KYC on a DEXEthereum / Solana / Polygon

Side by side

USDYOUSG
Where the yield comes fromShort-term US Treasuries + bank depositsInstitutional treasury / money-market funds
Risk (our label)Very LowLow
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
Liquidity24/7 on DEXs; direct redemption with KYCInstant, 24/7
KYC to mint with the issuerKYC requiredKYC required
KYC to buy on a marketNo KYCNo KYC
KYC to redeemNot statedNot stated
Assets under management$2.14B$578M
JurisdictionUSA (non-US persons only)USA
How to buyBuy on a DEX (Curve, Solana); direct mint requires KYCMint/redeem with Ondo (KYC) or buy on a DEX

How to choose

Both hold short-term US Treasuries, so their yields track each other closely. For a non-US individual with a small amount, USDY’s low entry point and DEX availability are what matter; for a qualified investor who wants a fund structure, OUSG is the product built for that. Neither is offered to US persons, as Ondo states it.

More questions

Which one has the lowest minimum?

USDY (Ondo Finance), with minimum ~$50 (secondary market). The highest stated minimum here is OUSG, with minimum $5,000.

Where does the yield come from?

USDY: Short-term US Treasuries + bank deposits. OUSG: Institutional treasury / money-market funds.

Which is the largest?

By size, USDY at $2.1B, followed by OUSG at $578M. Size is not safety, but a larger product usually means a deeper market to sell into.

How risky are they?

USDY: Very Low. OUSG: Low. The risk label is ours, in plain language, and is explained on each token page.

Are these yields fixed?

2 of 2 are variable: the rate moves with markets and is not guaranteed. The figures on this page were last checked on 2026-08-25.

Related