xStocks or Robinhood stock tokens — what is the difference?
Backed / xStocks lists 1,502 tokens. A certificate that tracks the price; dividends: reinvested, not paid out; voting rights: no. As the issuer states it, open to EU retail investors; not offered to UK investors or US investors. Robinhood Stock Tokens lists 198 tokens. A certificate that tracks the price; dividends: not stated; voting rights: no. As the issuer states it, not offered to US investors.
Both offer US stocks as tokens outside the US. xStocks are tracker certificates issued by Backed and traded on Kraken, Bybit and decentralised exchanges; Robinhood’s stock tokens are issued by Robinhood Assets (Jersey) Limited and traded in Robinhood’s app and on its own chain. The table compares what each issuer states.
How this list is made: computed from the live TokenBank dataset each time the page is built — 0 matching entries, each linked to its own page and source.
Figures from our live dataset · data as of 2026-10-19 · this answer as JSON · not investment advice
| Programme | Tokens | What you own | Dividends | Voting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backed / xStocks | 1,502 | A certificate that tracks the price | Reinvested, not paid out | No |
| Robinhood Stock Tokens | 198 | A certificate that tracks the price | Not stated | No |
Who can buy — as each issuer states it
| Programme | Region | Investors | Status | Condition · source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backed / xStocks | EU | Retail | Yes | Through the venues that list it; the token itself is freely transferable. source · 2026-09-18 |
| Backed / xStocks | UK | Retail | No | Kraken lists the UK among excluded jurisdictions, with Canada and Australia. source · 2026-09-18 |
| Backed / xStocks | US | Accredited | No | Not accessible to US persons, whatever the investor class. source · 2026-09-18 |
| Backed / xStocks | US | Retail | No | Not accessible in the US or to US persons. source · 2026-09-18 |
| Robinhood Stock Tokens | US | Accredited | No | Same exclusion for all US persons. source · 2026-09-18 |
| Robinhood Stock Tokens | US | Retail | No | "May not be offered, sold or delivered … to U.S. Persons (as defined in Regulation S)." source · 2026-09-18 |
Quoted from the issuers’ own documents on the date shown. Terms change; the issuer has the final word.
More questions
How many tokens does each programme offer?
Backed / xStocks: 1,502; Robinhood Stock Tokens: 198.
What do I actually own?
Backed / xStocks: a certificate that tracks the price, issued by Backed Assets (JE) Limited. Robinhood Stock Tokens: a certificate that tracks the price.
Do I get voting rights?
Backed / xStocks: no; Robinhood Stock Tokens: no.
Where are they sold?
As the issuers name them — Backed / xStocks: Kraken, Bybit, Solana DEXs.
Can I redeem them for the real shares?
Backed / xStocks: Backed describes redemption for onboarded, KYC-verified investors; we have not verified the terms for retail holders.