What has been tokenized in Africa — bonds, gold tokens and local-currency stablecoins?
9 instruments from 7 African countries (Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, Seychelles, South Africa, Zimbabwe): 6 local-currency stablecoins and 3 other instruments — Maroc Leasing bond on blockchain (Morocco's first) (pilot issuance); MERJ Exchange tokenized ordinary shares (reported issuance — not confirmed by issuer or register); Zimbabwe Gold-Backed Digital Tokens (GBDT) (reported issuance — not confirmed by issuer or register). The largest stablecoins are ZARP (South African rand) and cNGN (Nigerian naira); Mento’s cedi, shilling, naira and rand coins are small.
Tokenization in Africa is mostly local-currency stablecoins and a few first-of-their-kind pilots. No African regulator publishes a register of tokenized securities, so each row here rests on its own source — an issuer page, a contract read on chain, or a press report — and says which. Pilots and reported issuances are labelled as such.
Figures from our live dataset · page generated 2026-10-18 · not investment advice
| Token | Issuer | Yield / return | Minimum | KYC to buy | Chain |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GHSM Mento Ghanaian Cedi | — | No yield | — | Not stated | Celo |
| KESM Mento Kenyan Shilling | — | No yield | — | Not stated | Celo |
| MA-MAROCLEASING-2022 Maroc Leasing bond on blockchain (Morocco's first) | Maroc Leasing (Groupe Banque Centrale Populaire) | Not stated by the source | — | Not stated | — |
| cNGN cNGN | Wrapped CBDC Ltd (Nigeria; SEC ARIP admission in principle) | No yield | — | Not stated | Base / BNB Chain / Ethereum (+1) |
| NGNM Mento Nigerian Naira | — | No yield | — | Not stated | Celo |
| SC-MERJ-SHARES MERJ Exchange tokenized ordinary shares | MERJ Exchange Ltd (Seychelles FSA) | Not stated by the source | — | Not stated | — |
| ZARM Mento South African Rand | — | No yield | — | Not stated | Celo |
| ZARP ZARP Stablecoin | ZARP Stablecoin (Pty) Ltd | No yield | — | Not stated | Ethereum / Base / Polygon (+1) |
| ZW-RBZ-GBDT Zimbabwe Gold-Backed Digital Tokens (GBDT) | Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe | Not stated by the source | — | Not stated | — |
How to choose
Read the evidence level on each row: a stablecoin read on chain is confirmed to exist; a pilot or a reported issuance may have ended or never reached investors.
More questions
Why are so few African instruments listed?
Because few are published anywhere we can read. No African securities regulator lists tokenized issues, and most pilots are announced once in the press. If you know of one, tell us through “List your token”.
Which of them can I buy without KYC?
None of them is stated as buyable without KYC.