syrupUSDC or lending USDC on Aave — is Maple’s higher yield worth the extra risk?
syrupUSDC (Maple Finance) yields ~4.84%, no minimum, can be bought on a DEX without KYC. AAVE-USDC (Aave (protocol)) yields ~3.8% (variable), no minimum, can be bought on a DEX without KYC.
Both pay interest on USDC. Aave lends to on-chain borrowers against crypto collateral; syrupUSDC lends through Maple to vetted institutional borrowers. The extra yield on syrupUSDC is payment for credit risk.
Figures from our live dataset · page generated 2026-10-11 · not investment advice
Side by side
| syrupUSDC | AAVE-USDC | |
|---|---|---|
| Where the yield comes from | Institutional, over-collateralized lending | Interest from overcollateralized borrowers |
| Risk (our label) | Medium | Medium |
| Custody | Self-custody | Self-custody |
| Liquidity | Redeem via liquidity buffer; large amounts may queue | Withdraw any time (subject to pool utilization) |
| KYC to mint with the issuer | No KYC | No KYC |
| KYC to buy on a market | No KYC | No KYC |
| KYC to redeem | Not stated | Not stated |
| Assets under management | $1.36B | Largest DeFi lending protocol |
| Jurisdiction | Global | Decentralized protocol |
| How to buy | Buy syrupUSDC at app.maple.finance or on a DEX | Connect a wallet at app.aave.com, supply USDC |
How to choose
Aave’s rate is set by an algorithm from how much of the pool is borrowed, and you can usually withdraw at any time. syrupUSDC’s rate comes from loans Maple arranges with institutional borrowers, and withdrawals go through a queue. The gap between the two yields is the price of credit and liquidity risk — the question is whether it is enough.
More questions
Where does the yield come from?
syrupUSDC: Institutional, over-collateralized lending. AAVE-USDC: Interest from overcollateralized borrowers.
How risky are they?
syrupUSDC: Medium. AAVE-USDC: Medium. The risk label is ours, in plain language, and is explained on each token page.
Are these yields fixed?
2 of 2 are variable: the rate moves with markets and is not guaranteed. The figures on this page were last checked on 2026-08-25.